## Notice of County Committee on School District Organization Election

The Santa Clara County Committee on School District Organization, the elected body responsible for school district organization and boundaries, will hold an election on January 16, 2024, to fill three seats. Voters in the election are the designated school board members of each school district in the county (California Education Code 35023 requires that each school board annually select one of its members to vote in the county committee election); candidates for the County Committee must be registered voters who reside within the supervisorial district they wish to represent. County Committee members serve four-year terms.

There are eleven seats on the County Committee – two from each of the five county supervisorial districts, and one at-large seat. This year, three seats are up for election, one each in Supervisorial Districts 1, 3, and 5.

Any eligible person who would like to be considered as a candidate for appointment is invited to submit an application. Applicants must be registered voters and must reside within the Supervisorial District in which they wish to run.

Supervisorial District 1 encompasses all or parts of the following school districts: Alum Rock Unified School District, Cambrian Elementary School District, East Side Union High School District, Evergreen Elementary School District, Franklin-McKinley Elementary School District, Gilroy Unified School District, Morgan Hill Unified School District, Mount Pleasant Elementary School District, Oak Grove School District, San Jose Unified School District, and Union Elementary School District.

Supervisorial District 3 encompasses all or parts of the following school districts: Alum Rock Unified School District, Berryessa Union School District, Cupertino Union School District, East Side Union High School District, Fremont Union High School District, Los Altos Elementary School District, Milpitas Unified School District, Mountain View Whisman School District, Orchard Elementary School District, San Jose Unified School District, Santa Clara Unified School District, and Sunnyvale School District.

Supervisorial District 5 encompasses all or parts of the following school districts: Cambrian School District, Campbell Union School District, Campbell Union High School District, Cupertino Union School District, East Side Union High School District, Fremont Union High School District, Lakeside Union School District, Loma Prieta Joint Union School District, Los Altos Elementary School District, Los Gatos Union School District, Los Gatos-Saratoga Union High School District, Mountain View Los Altos School District, Mountain View Whisman School District, Moreland School District, Oak Grove School District, Palo Alto Unified School District, San Jose Unified School District, Saratoga Union School District, and Sunnyvale School District.

Applicants can verify residency in Supervisorial Districts 1, 3 or 5 by calling the Santa Clara County Office of Education at (408) 453-6869.

No employee of a Local Education Agency (LEA)/public school district or County Office of Education may serve on the County Committee. School district board members are eligible to serve.

For more information on the County Committee please visit the following website: <a href="https://www.sccoe.org/supoffice/countycommittee/Pages/default.aspx">https://www.sccoe.org/supoffice/countycommittee/Pages/default.aspx</a>

Interested individuals should submit a letter and resumé that includes interests and qualifications for the position by December 21, 2023. Materials can be submitted to the Santa Clara County Committee care of Olivia Santillán, 1290 Ridder Park Drive, San Jose, CA 95131-2304 or by email to <a href="mailto:Osantillan@sccoe.org">Osantillan@sccoe.org</a>. For further information, contact Olivia Santillán at (408) 453-6869.